2009 Bud Shootout

Can I just say, I am not so thrilled about watching the 2009 Bud Shootout.  I know I probably will just because it means the beginning of the 2009 NASCAR season as well as signifying that the Daytona 500 is just around the corner.  However, I was not happy with the changes that were made with the Shootout.  I like the old way the lineup was determined.  If you are not goingt to reward those drivers who earned a pole, then why have the award.  Of course, in a sense they are rewarded by starting in the first position during a race weekend, but too me I just don’t agree with it.

The Shootout will consist of the top 6 drivers in owner’s points from each of the 4 manufacturers.  Gone now are those drivers who won a pole the previous year as well as past Shootout winners who didn’t earn a pole but finished among the top 50 in the season’s final championship standings.  The new rules will leave out a few notables, including Ryan Newman, Clint Bowyer, and even Tony Stewart.  And there may be a possibility of a few others depending on the Petty Enterprises ~ GEM possible merger. There are also a few other changes to the Shootout…they race will now be 75 laps instead of 70 laps.  There will also be also be a 10 minute intermission after 25 laps so drivers can change tires, fuel, etc.  I know they are trying to make the event more exciting by have basically a 50 lap shootout, but I just want racing.   But I guess that’s why I sit at home and watch on television.

I understand this change was probably due more to a sponsor driven effort than anything.  I mean heave forbid Coors Light and Budweiser work together to give us fans something worth watching.  I am not saying it won’t be worth watching, but it is going to be hard for me to watch a race where Tony is not racing.  With that being said, here is your 2009 Bud Shootout lineup.


  • #48 Jimmie Johnson
  • #29 Kevin Harvick
  • #07 Casey Mears (Clint will be in the #33 for 2009)
  • #31 Jeff Burton
  • #24 Jeff Gordon
  • #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.


  • #9 Kasey Kahne
  • #12 David Stremme (Ryan is now with SHR for 2009)
  • #43 (TBA)
  • #19 Elliott Sadler
  • #10 Reed Sorenson


  • #99 Carl Edwards
  • #16 Greg Biffle
  • #17 Matt Kenseth
  • #6 David Ragan
  • #26 Jamie McMurray
  • #28 Travis Kvapil


  • #11 Denny Hamlin
  • #20 Joey Logano (Tony is now with SHR for 2009)
  • #18 Kyle Busch
  • #83 Brian Vickers
  • #00 David Reutiman (reminder he drove the #44 in 2008)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s